jump to navigation

Work hard. July 10, 2013

Posted by ourfriendben in Reiki, Reiki wisdom.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I have a parrot. Well, actually, I have a parrot, two parakeets, a huge black German shepherd, and two enormous Maine coon-mix cats, an aquarium, and two small water gardens with goldfish, not to mention dozens upon dozens of container plants that make an annual trek to our deck from the greenhouse and house, then return to their cold-weather homes. Oh, and raised-bed vegetable and herb gardens.

All of these, as you can imagine, require a significant amount of daily care and quality time. And none more so than my 30-year-old yellow-naped Amazon, Plutarch the Pirate Parrot. Yellow napes are considered, with African greys, to be the brightest of all parrots, with their intelligence now estimated to equal that of a 5-year-old child. Plu is a handful. And he could live for a hundred years.

Plutarch talks, and he’s always grammatically correct. (Me: “You’re a big green bird.” Plu: “I’m a big green bird.”) He squawks (setting the dog off in a barking frenzy, ow, ow, just for today, don’t get angry). He laughs (like me, unfortunately for my sense of self-respect). He sings, whistles, and hums his favorite tunes (such as the James Bond theme song). He has favorite bands (like Jethro Tull) and movies (especially the adventure films with lots of gunfire and explosions). He is extremely perceptive and emotionally responsive.

The reason I’m writing about this on my Reiki blog is that I was at the pet store last night and picked up the 30th anniversary edition of Bird Talk magazine. And a number of people who were featured in the issue cared for five, seven, or more of these big birds, many of them rescues.

Because of their longevity, sometimes parrot owners predecease their birds. Often, the flashy, expensive birds are bought as status symbols, and when they prove more high-maintenance than, say, a Tesla or Bentley, their owners throw them out. Sometimes people with young families buy parrots as colorful pets for the kids, then are overwhelmed by their time-consuming needs. (Note to families: Parakeets, aka budgies, have huge parrot personalities in small, easy-care, colorful bodies. They’re great pets for busy families, or anyone else, for that matter.) And sometimes, busy people with hectic work and travel schedules buy parrots for companionship.

In all these cases, parrots often end up in foster care when they prove too demanding for their original owners. And, even more tragically, parrots, because of their high intelligence, can actually go insane if neglected. A sensitive, companion-loving bird like a cockatoo, shut away in a small, featureless cage away from his human family, can and often does lose his mind. There’s even a facility for insane parrots in Florida; I’ve seen a documentary of it, and trust me, it’s not something you would want to show your kids.

We all know the patience, love, and understanding a rescue/adopted dog, cat, bunny, or the like needs to accept and trust, and eventually come to love, his or her new family. Imagine what it takes to win the trust of a parrot, to overcome his feelings of betrayal and abandonment, to form strong, solid bonds. Imagine what it takes to win the trust of a dozen parrots, as some of these people have.

I was so struck by the Reiki spirit of those who chose to accept that challenge, to endure the screaming, the biting, the feather-plucking, the manic and repetitive behaviors, the mess and destruction. Would you adopt a dozen severely autistic children? This is what people who adopt or foster abused, abandoned parrots often face.

I wouldn’t have the nerve. I’ve had a number of exotic birds over the years, from rosellas and grass parakeets to lilac-crowned Amazons and, ultimately, Plutarch. But none of them had been abused, ignored, or abandoned.

When I first met Plu, I’d gone into a pet store that specialized in birds. The store allowed its parrots free playtime on open-air playgyms. There were many beautiful birds on the playgyms, and I’m an aesthete who’s always drawn to beauty. There was also one big, homely green bird. It followed me everywhere as I enjoyed the play of the pretty birds. It had chosen me; eventually, I noticed.

I have always chosen the pets who have also chosen me. When choosing cats or parakeets, for example, I’ll come close to them and see who responds. So when I realized that this big, homely green bird had chosen me, I figured, “Oh, what the heck,” and asked the store clerk how much he cost. You can imagine how stunned I was when I learned that the homeliest bird in the store was also the most expensive!

Yowie kazowie. I left without Plutarch, but he stayed on my mind. I started putting money aside, hardly even realizing what I was doing. Eventually, I had managed to scrape together enough. I went back to the store, and yes, Plutarch was still there. And not only there. He recognized me at once, ecstatically displaying and calling to me, in effect, “Thank God, I knew you’d come back!”

I have been so blessed to have Plutarch with me through the many life changes since then, faithful friend, loyal companion, trusting family member. I’m not worthy, I’m not worthy! I try to love all my companions, from my partner Rob down to the goldfish and plants, with as much fervor as I can. I try to focus the Five Reiki Principles (aka Precepts, Ideals) on them first, for if you can’t show your own that you love them unconditionally, what hope is there?

God bless those who try to save our animal friends. Believe me, it isn’t easy.

Just for today, be kind.

Comments»

1. Huma - July 10, 2013

Great post Elly—and we have all loved Plu through you!

Thanks, Huma! Having Plu in my life has been a wonderful gift.


Leave a comment